roadtrip recap

Last weekend recap!

Me and the bf began our road trip last Thursday. Destination-Boston for PaxEast, with stops in Philadelphia, and New Haven, CT.

Thursday-Got off work, dropped Peanut off at the kennel, and hit the road to Philly! The drive to Philly was 6 hours, so by the time we got there it was already too late to really do anything. We checked in to our hotel, and decided to have Philly cheesesteaks at Tony Luke’s! It was recommended on some travel blogs I read and it was on Man vs Food! Last time I trust them.  The bread was SO hard and the meat was dry. Not good at all. I should’ve listened to the local who told us there were MUCH better places to have cheesesteaks. After the fail cheesesteak, we went to Eulogy, a Belgian beer bar, and had some drinks. I fell in love with this place because it reminded me of the little cafe’s I always went to in Amsterdam. The beer list was amaaaaazing and had over 400 beers. I had 2 beers, which was more than enough for me considering their 10.0 ABV. Went back to the hotel and proceeded to pass out.

Friday-Woke up really early because we wanted to see a few things around Philly before we started our next leg of the trip (Philly to Boston!). We walked along the waterfront at Penn’s Landing, and saw some cool ships including the HUGE and very old SS United States. After walking around and getting some breakfast there, we went to Philadelphia Art Museum, not to see art, but to run up the “Rocky steps”. Remember this scene from the movie Rocky? It was filmed here so…we had to!

bf at the top of the steps

my Rocky pose

After that, we hit the road to Boston. We should’ve made it there in 6 hours, BUT I saw an outlet mall and had to stop. I picked up a dress, a new top, and the bf got some shirts. Successful pit stop? yes!  We had another pitstop to make too, but it was planned. I wanted to stop by New Haven, CT to see my Great, Great, grandfather, Sengbe Pieh’s statue which stands in fron of their City Hall. My family has gone multiple times for dedications and memorials, and I’ve seen the statue in pictures, but I have never seen it in person.

We made it to Boston (finally) Friday evening and went straight to the Boston Convention Center where PaxEast was being held. Unfortunately, we were too late to see the show floor, but we did meet up with my friends from Memphis and hit up the table top gaming area! It was huge guys. Tables of Magic, Munchkin, DnD, Dominion, and a whole bunch of other table top games I’ve never heard of. The bf and I played a couple of games of Magic and hung out with my friends before heading to the hotel.

Saturday/Sunday-Woke up early and got our butts to PaxEast. You know to enjoy gaming and panels! We got there when the doors open and stayed until the doors closed. I played the new Magic game which will  be released summer 2012, 3DS (which is awwwweosme!), a whole bunch of games, went to some panels, wandered around, met some twitter friends, and just hung around at PaxEast. I didn’t want to leave on Sunday. I really had a good time just hanging  out and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Monday, MONDAY, MONDAY-Sunday night after Pax we drove straight to Boston and proceeded to pass out. On Monday we saw the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, and hung out on the hip South Street. We had lunch at an awesome cheesesteak shop (Steaks on South! The sandwiches were so good. If you’re in Philly, go there!) and then we went to The Magic Gardens!Magic Gardens is an indoor/outdoor maze of mosaics inlaid with various pieces of poetry. After the gardens we headed back home to WV.

If you’d like to see more pics go here or here.

2 thoughts on “roadtrip recap

  1. what an exciting trip :)

    and holy crap! you’re practically famous! i’ve never gotten around to watching amistad, but that’s so amazing that you’re pieh’s great great grandaughter

Leave a Reply

