go away, 2010!

I am so ready for 2010 to be over and done! I’ve had a lot of good things come my way, but for every good thing that happened, 5 bad things happened. I’m not exaggerating. I’m hoping this bad luck doesn’t run over to 2011.

I usually don’t make new years resolutions, but this shitty year inspired me to do so.

 

(from fuckyeahhappy.tumblr.com)

Push myself! This resolution is roller derby related. Too often  I am content with just being. I’ve never been one of those people that wants/has to be first and the best at something. I just do what’s required of me. Nothing more, nothing less.  I never push myself to go farther than that. Well, next year I will. During timed drills, instead of just getting my 25 laps in 5 minutes, I’ll strive for more. Instead of half-assing it around the track during sprints, I’m going to give it my all. Pushing myself will  make me a better skater, player, and having new goals to beat (i like playing little games with myself) will hopefully get rid of some of the “meh” I feel towards going to practice some days.

Exercise regularly I get a good amount of exercise during the week. I have a 2 hr roller derby practice twice a week and every now and then I’ll go to an open skate for more exercise/time on my skates.  In 2011, I want to exercise 4 days a week. 2 days of derby practice and 2 days of whatever. One could be an open skate and the other can be at the gym or jumping rope in my house.  And jogging…when it gets warmer!

Eat Healthier– More water, more fresh veggies/fruit and less crap! I was good about this most of the year, then the holidays arrived and I fell off the wagon.

Lose 25 lbs This goes along with the 2 previous resolutions. if I keep them in check, I’m sure the lbs will fall off.

Be financially responsible- this is going to be a hard one for me, y’all. I’m a compulsive spender. I usually get my paycheck, pay off my bills, and use the rest for whatever instead of saving it! I need to realize, I don’t need  new shoes/dress/bag, I dont need to buy 5 books every time I go to Barnes and Noble ( I can only read one at a time, right!?), I don’t need to feel regretful/upset about stupid purchases when I read my bank statement at the end of the month and I don’t need to stress out about money. With a budget that includes saving, my financial life will be a lot less stressful. (so if any of you have any tips or suggestions or budgeting/financial apps for iphone that you think will be helpful, let me know!)

Monthly Goals- RayJ of Point me to the Sky Above inspired me to do this. Every month she makes a few small monthly goals and at the end of the month reflects on them. Smaller goals are more attainable and I think it’ll help me in the bigger picture.

Cross more things off my 101-list!

READ MORE– I say this every year. I already bought the first book I will finish in 2011. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Everyone always raves about that series, so I decided to try it. I don’t usually  read thrillers, so this will be something new for me.

I hope everyone has a wonderful New Year! Are you making any resolutions?

4 thoughts on “go away, 2010!

  1. The monthly mini-goals are great! And I’m starting Girl with the Dragon Tattoo next as well for the same reason (everyone talking about how great a book/series it is) – just got it for Christmas =)

    Good luck with your resolutions! Instead of actually making them this year I decided to start the 101 in 1001 instead.

  2. suggestion for saving: treat it like a bill. make it an automatic payment that pulls after your paycheck comes in. i use smartypig (love!), but i know ING and some other companies have similar setups. having money poof automatically to a separate account was the only way i managed to save in 2010. now i have quite the chunk squirreled away :)

    and i JUST finished the girl who played with fire. i’m totally in love with this series

    good luck with the goals. 2011 will be your bitch ;)

Leave a Reply

