gaming :3

I feel like the gaming gods have blessed me in the last few weeks! Steam, became available for Mac. Steam is a platform that PCs have had for yeaaaaars! It’s basically like an application for your computer that allows you to download games of all kind directly from them. That means no going to the store to get Left 4 Dead. You can just download it straight from Steam! It also has a built in buddy list-you can message your friends while they’re in game, join their game(if you have the same one), and just stalk them to see what game their playing and how long they’ve been spending on it. If you happen to have it, feel free to add me. User name is pinkielarue. I only have a few games at the moment since there are only a few mac compatible ones I’m interested in. But they are promising to release new mac games! Not to worry. For I have a Starcraft 2 Beta key!

Starcraft 2 comes out in July, but I am in a beta group and get to play now! It’s basically a learning experience for me. It’s my first real time strategy game and I’ve only played the original Starcraft a handful of times. I’m still crappy, but a lot better than I was when I first started playing. The Starcraft beta is ending on May 31st, but not to worry for I have been invited to the Alpha testing of the new World of Warcraft expansion, Cataclysm!

Alpha testing is pre-Beta testing only for friends and family of Blizzard employees (the company that makes both Starcraft and World of Warcraft). So, lucky to have a friend that works for that company :) I’ve been playing this game the most! I’ve made new characters in both the new classes (worgen and goblins) and of course imported my 80 Priest to the Alpha realms. I haven’t done any questing with the level 80, but I’ve done the new instance, Blackrock Caverns and I must say it is pretty cool. Simple, but cool. I would love to post screen shots and say more, but I’m under an NDA and not sure how much I can actually say.

So apologies if you see me as “available” on skype, aim, msn and don’t get a reply. I am probably full screen in some game :)

3 thoughts on “gaming :3

  1. SO JEALOUS!!!

    I’m hoping at least one of our accounts gets a Beta invite for Cata (last time all 3 of hubby’s accounts got invites, so he used one himself, gave me one, and while he contemplated selling the 3rd on ebay, he gave it to a WoW friend of ours who lives within driving distance and was in our wedding, lol…)

    He just pre-ordered a copy of Starcraft 2 today – I never played Starcraft (sad, I know), so I’ll probably watch him at first and ask a million questions like a noob. I forgot to ask him which version he pre-ordered – he was talking about getting the collector’s edition… he has an entire “skin” on his Droid for Starcraft – backgrounds, menus, sound effects, icons… lol… it’s kinda funny!

    Oh hey, dunno if you got my message on 20sb.net, but I’m giving away a $25 Amazon.com giftcard on my blog to celebrate 5 years this month since I started playing WoW =) Feel free to check it out: http://pointme2theskyabove.blogspot.com/2010/05/celebrating-my-wow-anniversary-fun-loot.html

  2. oooh fun. i don’t know why, but i really like testing stuff. i’m part of the glass beta group, and i LOVE it. i guess i love being able to help shape what other people will experience when something goes live in full

    might mention steam to my boy. but knowing him, he probably already knows about/has it lol

Leave a Reply

