zombie, zombie, zombie-e-e-e

I had my first day at work today. Well, sorta. Today was inservice day. The other teachers and I decorated the rooms, made bulletin boards, and had team meetings with the director. School starts on Monday and I’ll have a class of 18 kids. Everyone keeps asking me if I’m nervous, and I’m not! It’s something I’m really comfortable doing, so I’m perfectly fine with it.

I’m on a mission to fight my insomnia. If you follow me on twitter, you know that I’ve been having trouble sleeping for a while now. You probably notice me awake at weird hours, going to bed when you’re waking up for work, and then only sleeping for 3 hours. It’s crazy and I have no idea what the cause is. It’s not caffeine, stress or, loud neighbors. Its just some random phase I guess. I’ve always been able to function on little sleep, but not for such a long period of time. I took a couple of Tylenol Sleepy Time yesterday and it did what it was supposed to do. It put me to sleep, but I was wide awake a few hours later. Maybe I’ll pop 3 next time? Maybe my sleep schedule will fall into a normal rhythm now that I’m empolyed? One can only hope…

In other news!

plants-vs-zombies-20090402114225619_640w

A couple of weeks ago, a friend of mine suggested that I download Plants Vs Zombies from Popcap games. I was a little hesitant at first. A game about plants fighting zombies?! Why on earth would I be interested in that? But I try to give everything a chance (besides music…), so I downloaded it. I didn’t get around to playing it until this week, and oh am I glad that I did! Plants vs. Zombies is awesome and yes, very addicting. I spent so many hours playing within the last 2 days. It’s a tower defense game where you try to keep the zombies out of your house by planting plants with different offensive and defensive abilities in your yard. Some of the plants shoot peas, some throw watermelons, and some are used for defense, like the WALL-nut. (which I’m adding a picture of because he and his friend “tall-nut” have the most hilarious facial expressions) 3293150-3-plants-vs-zombies-wall-nut-and-tall-nut As the levels progress, not only do more zombies attempt to get in your house by way of your yard AND your roof, but they get more kick ass abilities to aid them in destroying your plants. You’ll be trying to destroy zombies on dolphins, Michael Jackson “thriller” inspired zombies,pole vaulting zombies and the ones that give me the most trouble, Gargantuan zombies with a baby on his back that he throws into the yard to devour the plants. It’s 2 in one! Not fair, not fair! No worries though. I am a supreme zombie killer and I definitely beat the game yesterday. I was rewarded with a trophy, some mini games (!!!), and the best reward ever-a music video featuring the plants and zombies. Check it out! I should warn you, the song is so catchy.

I know a lot of you aren’t “gamers”, but that’s what is so cool about this game. It appeals to anyone. My mom even played it (she didn’t get very far)! So, go to www.popcap.com and download the free (for 60 minutes) demo-which is available for mac too!

4 thoughts on “zombie, zombie, zombie-e-e-e

  1. DON’T TAKE 3 TYLENOL!!! Ok – that was probably a little dramatic but I think you only have to take like 6 – or is it 7? tylenol at once and it does major inside damage (liver or kidney – can’t remember.)

    You definitely don’t want to experiment with taking more of those … tylenol is like the one drug that you should never take more than the recommended dose – ever.

    Let’s see – I’ve had insomnia most of my adult life. I use benadryl sometimes (I think that is the same active ingredient that is added to tylenol pm??) and if that doesn’t work I add in herbal tea – or sometimes I even take Rx prescription sleeping stuff – but I don’t fool around with tylenol or the sleeping variations of it.

    I’ve found that having a wind-down routine at night REALLY helps me sleep better – and also sometimes I play sudoku (which requires my full attention and forces me to stop thinking about anything else.) For me personally – sudoku isn’t terribly addicting like I find games to be – and movies? I always stay up to watch the end … so those don’t work either.

    anyway – sorry this is so long!!! Good luck with the sleeping thing – I HATE insomnia.

  2. Pingback: Pinkie Larue » Blog Archive » Go, pickle, go!

  3. Pingback: Plants vs. zombies « Yeow! Boom! Pow!

Leave a Reply

