arghhhh!

I feel the need to give this topic the respect that it needs. Last week another act of violence was committed against a trans woman in Memphis. She was shot in the nose and throat by her attacker because she “misled him about her gender.” She’s still alive and in critical condition.

Sadly, it happens quite often here. I was shocked to learn that in the last 2 years five trans women have been shot in Memphis. 3 of those resulting in deaths. It really disgusts me! Just because of differences. I find it ridiculous that in this day and age people can’t show tolerance. Come on! No one is asking you to be ok and agree with their lifestyle, but be tolerant of it. Please? If you disagree with how they are living don’t take it out in violence against them. What does that solve?! Nothing.

I wish I knew a way to solve this-these hate crimes. Education maybe? But where do we start? At home? I do think that parents need to start instilling tolerance in their children at young ages. They need to teach their children that it’s ok to be different. And not just with race, which is the only tolerance I remember being taught about, but teaching them tolerance of people with different backgrounds, sexual orientations, religion, life choices, everything! But what happens when the parents don’t agree with tolerance of such things and don’t teach their kids!? Then who do the children learn from!? And what about the parents that instead of passing down the need for tolerance do the exact opposite and pass down more intolerance!? And what about all of the people in the world that are ALREADY intolerant of differences? How are we supposed to reach them!? ahhh! This kind of stuff frustrates me to no end…

I guess I’ll never know the answer, but I do think tolerance would help. Maybe then we wouldn’t have to hear about Dr. Tiller being murdered for his choice to perform late term abortions. Maybe then I wouldn’t be reading about the 3 murders of memphis transgendered women, Leeneshia Edwards, Tiffany Berry and Ebony Whitake.

My heart goes out not only to Kelvin Denton as he recovers in critical care RIGHT NOW, but to victims of any hate crimes, the ones we’ve lost and to all of their families.

3 thoughts on “arghhhh!

  1. I think that we need to increase our valuing of human life. Human beings matter becaue they are made in the image of God, no matter what choices they make.

Leave a Reply

