HAGELSLAG!

I promise everything on my “Typical Dutch Things” list won’t be food, but I was inspired by my lunch today for my next topic!
Hagelslag

3986jpg

Hagelslag, prounounced….umm, I don’t think I can tell you how to pronounce it through a blog. It requires the dutch “hocking a loogy” sound and I’m not sure how to write that phonetically. Hagelslag is a typical Dutch sandwich topping similar to chocolate sprinkles! It’s really popular for kids on their breakfast sandwich, but there is ALWAYS hagelslag in my kitchen. I eat it all the time. I love the stuff. I even put it in my ice cream and sometimes when I come home a bit intoxicated I’ve been known to chug some before bed. (lol) Apparently, Dutch people eat about 14 million kilo ‘hagelslag’ per year on about 850 million slices of bread. I think I count for a lot of those bread slices >.<

To make a perfect hagelslag sandwich you-

1-butter a slice of bread
2-sprinkle a crap ton of hagelslag on it
3. You can then either it it like that or smoosh the hagelslag down into the bread, fold it,and EAT IT!

There is an art to it. When I first had it in August 2007, this is what my bread looked like
l_b10b232a3cfe31d1638e0c4648f46bc6jpg
Just pathetic! There’s barely any hagelslag on it! Now, after almost 2 years, this is what my hagelslag sandwich looks like normally!

photo-29
so much better ^_^

Hagelslag comes in all types of flavors. Milk Chocolate, Dark Chocolate, White chocolate, mmm! There are also different varieties of them. ‘Muisjes’ (little mice) are a sort of hagelslag. They’re sprinkles with sugar and colored outer cover and equally as yummy. It’s Dutch tradition to eat “beschuit met muisjes”, a biscuit with muisjes, when a baby is born. Pink/white for a baby girl and blue/white for a baby boy.
beschuit_met_muisjesjpg

I’ll be bringing a box or two home with me!

11 thoughts on “HAGELSLAG!

  1. i recently made an inquiring post about these candies – my little dutch ice cream shop at the corner imports a ton of different kinds and now i feel the need to try some out!!

  2. I can’t believe you eat that stuff! My exboyfriend used to eat this every morning…the multicolored sprinkles with orange and pink.

    On your way back, can you pick up a chocolate bar with hazelnuts at the c1000 and a yogurt…any fruit topping will do!

  3. Pingback: oh hai » Blog Archive » nomnomnomnomnonmomnonmonmnomnomn

  4. a dutch friend sent me some hagelslag a a gift and i had no idea what to do with it, but the picture on the package seemed to indicate bread and butter, so i went with that.

    i’m so glad i got that right!

    that’s a load off of my shoulders.

    but now the question is: where do i get more of this stuff?

  5. yes, it is addictive. i’ll have to order some. i won’t be going there anytime soon, though.

    if i have to get on a plane to get there, i don’t want to go!

Leave a Reply

